top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnnika Stevenson

The Whole30

The incredible health program that might've just saved my hands.




I've got to say, I LOVE food. Who doesn't love curling up on the couch with a bowl of mac 'n cheese (like this masterpiece my sister and I made) and a mug full of ice cream? I sure do. However, when you're living with rheumatoid arthritis, these foods aren't necessarily the most beneficial for your body.


Comfort Food, Discomforted Joints

Fatty foods that are chock-full of sugar and gluten make me feel good in the moment, but leave me sore and stiff in the long-run.

After I was diagnosed with RA, I did little to adjust my diet and lifestyle. As my fingers began to change shape and water bottles became harder and harder to open, I realized I needed to make a change. But where would I start?


Lucky enough for me, I have a mother who works in healthcare. After talking to one of her coworkers whose RA had gone into remission, we decided that we would radically change the way we did food and start the Whole30 Program. (Thanks, Mom, for doing this crazy thing with me.)


The Program


In the Whole30 Program, you eliminate common allergens from your diet for 30 days and slowly reintroduce them afterwards to see what affects your body and how. No sugar, grains, dairy, soy, legumes, etc. I know what you're thinking; "WHAT? NO SUGAR?? NO RICE??? NOTHING?" Well, yes, but, no. Not nothing. My mom and I have found incredibly delicious recipes that make us feel good and fill us up healthfully.


Let me tell you, I. Feel. Great. It's been a looong time since I could say that. I have almost full range of motion with my hands and fingers, I'm full of energy and I feel like I could take on the world head-on. And I like to think I do.


Rainbows and Roses

I'm going to be honest with you, not every second is great. I craved bread almost every day, but it's all worth it.

I will admit, I kind of made it sound like it's a piece of cake (ba dum tss). While on some days it can feel like a bear, it really, truly is worthwhile for someone who is looking to lessen their symptoms and feel better in general. It has transformed the way I view food and has definitely made me more conscientious of what I put into my body. I recommend this for anyone who's looking for a more natural way to help relieve their pain and stiffness.


Dietary Diligence


In summary, when you have RA, your diet is a huge part of your treatment. If you do nothing or little to nothing to change your diet and lifestyle, your condition will not improve. Everyone's different, but for me, the Whole30 has been amazing. I feel better, brighter and healthier than ever.


**If you have RA and The Whole30 didn't work for you, or you don't think it will, that's totally fine! Your treatment is your's. Don't let anyone dictate how you're treated (except maybe your rheumatologist). More on this little tidbit in a future post. ;)

176 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 comentarios


Carol Stevenson
Carol Stevenson
28 ene 2018

Great job, Annika!

Me gusta

tamivillar
27 ene 2018

Share your favorite recipes!!!

Me gusta
bottom of page